Weekend Festivitieeeeeeeeees

I’ve worked in a restaurant for over seven years of my life where I never would get weekends off unless I requested it and it had to be for a reason that my bosses considered important enough to allow me to have the weekend off. Now, I work in an office that is closed every Saturday and Sunday. It was a little strange at first, getting used to not working on weekends, but it didn’t stay “strange” for long. Now I TREASURE these weekends. Husband and I try to make the days last as long as possible and we make every effort to spend some quality time with each other. So, here’s a glimpse of yesterday’s festivities… 🙂

 

Of course, we all know it is St. Patrick’s Day weekend. We headed downtown (which is one of my FAVORITE places to go) and planned on getting lunch at an irish pub. WELL. Apparently that was everyone else and their mother’s plan for yesterday too. Every Irish place that we knew of was PACKED, overflowing with drunken people stumbling about with green beer in hand. So we went to Wild Wings instead. Needless to say, we still enjoyed a green beer ourselves.

Image

 

Afterwards, we headed to King Street and window shopped. Because that is the only kind of shopping normal people can afford to do there. A Kate Spade store recently opened on King (be still my coveting heart) AND an Anthropologie store, which Husband so graciously/reluctantly followed me into and pretended like he was interested in the gorgeous dishware and tea towels I drooled on. 

I love trying new coffee shops. It’s my goal to try EVERY SINGLE ONE in our area before I die. So whenever we go downtown, I always tell Husband that we are going to to a new coffee shop. I always get a froo-froo latte and he always gets a regular cup of brewed coffee. City Lights Coffee’s hazelnut mocha….to die for. I could feel the sugar/caffeine high with every sip. Husband said their brewed coffee left much to be desired. Should have got the froo-froo, I told him. 

Image

 

We found a bench and sipped our drinks and watched the tourists go by, all dressed in green. Charleston is really beautiful. It gives me this feeling, I don’t know how to describe it. It’s like, an excited and relaxed feeling at the same time. Like I’m in an old movie. It’s a feeling I wish I felt every day. 

Here’s from our spot on the bench

Image

 

When we returned home from Charleston, we spent the rest of the evening just being together. I think that, many times, we don’t stop and appreciate “just being together.” Even if it’s as simple as just being in the same room, listening to music as we work in the office. 

This weekend was so enjoyable, I just wanted to share it. I hope everyone else’s weekend was just as enjoyable! 🙂

Leave a Reply

