Cereal and future design stuff

This morning I woke up at 6:45 to go to Publix and buy a crap-ton of cereal. All Kellogg’s cereals were half off for Saturday and Sunday only, and since my husband practically eats an entire box of cereal every morning, I figured I should stock up while it’s on sale. Why did I get up so freaking early on a Saturday to go buy cereal, you ask? I HAVE NO FREAKING CLUE. It made complete sense in my head that I truly needed to get to the store as soon as it opened (at 7 AM) to beat the crazies that were all going to be mobbing Publix and fighting over boxes of cereal. However, there were no crazies mobbing Publix over cereal. There was just me and my cart filled with a million cereals. All by my lonesome. Maybe I’m the only weirdo that would fight people over 50% off Frosted Mini Wheats (I love them things). Either way, my household should be good on breakfast for the next year or so. Or, the next week, since hubbs thinks that one box= one bowl.

ANYWAY, in more artsy related topics (I haven’t written much about art and design, which is dumb because this whole blog is supposed to be about art and design, I must’ve got distracted), I’ve decided to sell some of my work on Etsy.com. It seems like a good idea in my head, but then again we know how those ideas turn out sometimes- like going cereal shopping early to fight the imaginary crazies. I’m not sure what kind of art I’m going to do though. I was thinking paintings and illustrations, then I was thinking of digital illustrations, then I was thinking of stationary designed by yours truly. The great thing about Etsy is that people shop there FOR handmade, one of a kind items. All you do is type in what kind of product you want and a million of that product pops up and you can browse through. I figured this could be a good start to putting my degree to work and actually being able to do something I love and enjoy, and hopefully make some dough in the process. I only have a couple of pieces right now, so I’m going to create a few more, then open up shop. I’m excited!

Leave a Reply

